The Vast World of the Internet

On your mark, get set! We’re riding on the Internet! Cyberspace, sets-free. Hello virtual reality. Interactive appetite, searching for a web site. A window to the world that to get online. Take a spin, now you’re in with the techno set: You’re going surfing on the Internet! Hello peeps once again! Today I will be talking about, of course, the internet. I’ll be going over my perspective on it and why it is “a good and bad thing”.

Ah the Internet. A system used all around the world that holds so much in it. It makes certain tasks easier, whether for researching, or simply using it for entertainment. A lot of what we’ve known today is all because of this creation. Main thing being Social Media, which I’ll get into in a bit. I got exposed to the Internet pretty late. I was never fond of computers, I’d prefer handhelds like the Nintendo DS and sometimes consoles. Until I was around 9, my mom showed me what the Internet was. At the time, I just thought it was a way for me to play games (whether at home or those games they allow you to play at school, SHOUTOUTS TO COOLMATHGAMES.COM LOL). Eventually overtime, I understood the main premise around it. Search whatever you need on a search engine, and then you can go on from there. I also got to learn what “sketchy websites” were and those ads where you shoot the iPads and “win a free one”. Luckily, I was smart enough to not put in fcking personal information and moved on to whatever I was doing. And, here I am now. The Internet is sort of my “escape”. I got sites like Youtube, social medias of course, and obviously this blog. Its pretty cool to think about, “all” that you need in one “little” system right?

Some of you may agree with me on those positive things, having entertainment and making tasks much more simple within a few clicks. Well, that my friend is only the surface. What do you mean “surface”? The Internet isn’t all sunshines and rainbows. It gets “hectic” to say the least the more you go further. Personally, I haven’t gone that farm, I’ve only heard/researched about what is “down there”. A couple of weeks ago, a Youtuber (not gonna name, but you can probably find the video I’m talking about), streamed their journey of the deep web. The process to just get there is severely difficult. Since the deep web holds a bunch of viruses and malware and that “fun” jazz, you would have to go out of your way to set up software like virtual machines and Tor Browser, changing ip addresses, and messing with some settings on your computer that’s hard to access alone. Once that heavily long process is done, you’re introduced to possibly life scaring things on there. Illegal markets for drugs and assassinations, having the ability to use the most powerful currency ever in Bitcoins, and the most horrific section that being the “adult section” (can pretty much know what that means). Its funny, because all of that is still accessible. The government or anyone in general hasn’t taken any of that down for who knows why. If you’re for some reason interested in this, you can search that stuff up by yourself. Let it be known, it will change your perspective on certain things.

Another issue with the Internet is Social Media. Most of the world has some sort of Social Media. Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Snapchat, all of that fun stuff. Some people say that it ruins society yada yada yada. Sad thing is some of those types of people are hypocrites but thats for another day. And since young kids and teens are using social media, they of course get exposed to “Cyber Bulling”. Ok, let me be real. I think Cyber Bullying as a issue is really stupid. I know its a huge problem, it caused people to commit suicide and or push their mental health to the brink of thinking about that type of thing. But, the thing is, its not that hard to prevent. If you’re on the computer, there’s a thing called the power button. That applies to phones, tablets, etc. Its really not that difficult to “run away from”. If you “really enjoy social media”, then you can just block/mute/report people. It may seem inescapable and it seems you can’t make this person stop because you don’t know where/what they are. Here’s my philosophy on it. If you can’t handle ONE bad comment, then you mostly can’t use the Internet. Trolls do exist because they want to make themselves feel good because they think “they’re better than you”. Come on now, you and I both know they don’t matter and you’re obviously going places unlike them. You have greatness, and don’t let things like that get into your head. :]. That got a bit too real, uhhhhhhhh yeah.

The Internet is a wacky place filled with its ups and downs. Was its invention the greatest thing in the world? Maybe. Was it a mistake? Possibly. All I know is that it exists and you can’t change that. Oh, I almost forgot. Net Neutrality. If you don’t know what that means, its basically a concept that Internet providers allow everything to be accessible on the Internet whether its source is good or bad. Now that I think about it, thats probably why the deep web is accessible…. Nevermind. From my understanding, if this concept is “removed”, surfing the internet wouldn’t be the same. If you wanted to go on a certain website, there could be a chance that you would pay money to your service provider just to view it if Net Neutrality wasn’t a thing. So the Internet and a whole bunch of its big names like Discord, Netflix, etc are trying to get as many supporters as possible to keep Net Neutrality. For more information, there are a lot of websites for you to sign up like this one BattleForTheNet.

Now, I think that is everything I wanted to talk about for today. Thank you for reading! Again, there will be no posts next week due to me going to Hawaii and having no access to my computer, so yeah. Hope you enjoyed and give me ideas on topics plz! :] Have a      g o o d  d a y.

-Geri

Upcoming Topics:

-Random Opinions (Opinions and how it works nowadays)

-Beginners Guide to Competitive Smash (where/what to watch, etc)

-Hawaii (after my trip)

???

Leave a Reply

