Smash Brothers, a game like no Else

Hello people! So, originally I was going to make a blog post discussing mentality, and how it has been kind of a “hurdle” in my life, buutttttt, a tournament series called 2GoodGamingChampionship (2GGC), hosted a tournament called Nairo Saga. This tournament was specifically based off the top Super Smash Bros. for Wii U (or SSB4) player Nairoby “Nairo” Quezada , and was considered a big tournament due to the attendees there. I’m a fan of Super Smash Bros., so I pretty much had to watch it in most of its entirety. I can gladly say, watching it, especially Top 8 singles, was SUPER AMAZING. Probably the best Top 8 for SSB4 in 2017 since Frostbite (another tournament) imo. Nairo Saga’s top 8 was amazing in my opinion because, literally, everyone in the top 8, both winners side and losers side, played absolutely phenomenal. The gameplay was stunning to watch, and the commentary was fantastic and very informative. I highly suggest watching the top 8, (if you have the time of course), right here once you finish reading the blog post.

From looking at the first paragraph and pretty much the title, I will be talking about Super Smash Brothers, and why I love it so much. For the people who were confused on what the hell I was talking about in the first paragraph up to now, Super Smash Brothers is a video game series that includes a diverse cast from the Nintendo Universe (like Mario, Link, Pikachu, Samus, Ness, etc), as well as third party characters (like Pac-Man, Megaman, Sonic, etc). The object of the 4 part series is fighting opponents in a “type of box” or stage, and seeing who can deal more percentage. You would think that “Health bars” would be a thing in the game, and whoever reaches zero health wins. Smash Bros is a “tad” different. Each player has a percentage, starting at 0%. The more attacks you deal to the opponent, they gain percentage. Once they are high enough, lets say 110%, the more likely they are going to be blasted farther towards the “end sides of the boxes” or blastzones. You usually repeat the process whether it is timed during casual play to see who can get the most “stocks” or lives, or use the competitive format, which is usually different throughout all games. Smash Bros. was never really intended to be competitive, it wanted to be a party game that you can play with friends and family. I’m pretty sure most of you reading this are in that audience, but another audience built a foundation which later became “the competitive Smash Bros. scene”.

The competitive scene really didn’t exist until Super Smash Brothers Melee for the Nintendo Gamecube came out in 2001. Once that scene became “huge” or what considered huge for competitive gaming around 2005, the competitive drive spread through the “new releases” and years in Super Smash Brothers Brawl for the Nintendo Wii (2008), and Super Smash Brothers for Wii U/3DS (2014). While Brawl doesn’t really have competitors playing it anymore, Super Smash Brothers for the Nintendo 64 (1999) as well as both Melee and Wii U still is trying to reach the level of eSports other games have like Street Fighter, League of Legends, etc. Its still very shocking that 64 and mainly Melee is still trying to improve and grow after SO MANY YEARS. The dedication the Smash community has is beyond anything else. Tournament settings were hosted in churches, basements, all the obscure places you think of to have a “competitive” what was meant to be party game being held at. Now a days, tournaments are hosted in huge venues and theaters. The community lives and dies for this franchise, because its different from other titles. Its special to us, it changed some of our lives.

Now that you semi understand some history on Smash, I can now discuss my journey with the game and why I love it so much. At that time, that time being 2012-2015, I was always a handheld type of person. I loved Pokemon at the time, I mean I still do, but not as much as before. I’d play Pokemon pretty much everyday, whether casually or competitive. Yes, Pokemon has a competitive scene as well LOL. Anways, I was never really interested in fighting games. I always thought they would be super complicated to learn, so I never really wanted to try them out. I heard about Smash Bros. around 2014 I believe, by one of my friends. They told me it was a great fighting game, but once I heard those words, I immediately lost interest. I actually got to play one of the installments, that being Melee, for the first time in 2014. I remember most of what happened. It was at my friend’s house, and we just finished a science fair project I think. We sat down to play Melee, because I never played it and my friend loved it. He gave me this confusing looking controller, which I would eventually know as a Gamecube controller. Once the game was booted up, I saw the roster of characters. I had no clue what in the world most of the characters were. I only knew Mario characters and Pokemon characters. Everything else I didn’t know who they were. I picked either Jigglypuff/Pikachu/or Mewtwo, don’t exactly remember. My friend selected the stage “Battlefield”, which was a stage that included 3 floating platforms, and had a space themed background. Not knowing how to play, I did the most optimal thing when you don’t know how to play a fighting game. MASH ALL THE BUTTONS ON THE CONTROLLER. After like 5 minutes, I was pretty much done with the game and said this is impossible to play. I would be informed that I actually ruined my friend’s controller the next day lmao. I hadn’t touched any sort of Smash game since.

In summer of 2015, I decided to try it out since my newly made friend played it alot. Yes, I have friends btw. WOW WHO WOULD’VE THOUGHT. Anyway, I had a 3DS, and Smash Brothers for 3DS existed. I decided, lets try this out again. So, I got the demo version on my 3DS. There was very limited options in the demo, and only 4 characters to choose from (Mario, Pikachu, Link, and Megaman). I decided to choose Link because I always had a fascination with sword type characters. I always wanted a lightsaber from Star Wars, or like a crazy sword weapon from Power Rangers when I was young. Once I picked my character, I saw a stage select screen, that ONLY HAD ONE STAGE. The stage was called “Battlefield”, which sounded very familiar. The game started and well, I enjoyed it. Took me a little bit to understand how the controls worked, but I got kind of used to them. Also the controls in Smash are different from other fighting games. There are standard ground attacks, aerial attacks, smash attacks, and special attacks. Sounds complicated I know, I felt your pain when I got the demo. After a few days of playing it, I decided I should buy the full game. My friend was ecstatic about me finally getting a true feel of what Smash Bros really is. Once I got the game, the rest was history. I played the 3DS version for 4 months, until I got a Wii U for Christmas in the same year.

During those 4 months of playing 3DS Smash, I found this video which would spark my interest for the competitive scene. It had a blue and black background. With a sword character named Marth (from the Fire Emblem series). The video was named, One Of A Kind | A Mew2King Marth Combo Video by Royal22.  This video was a series of clips of the Smash Bros player, Jason “Mew2King” Zimmerman, playing Marth and doing what I thought were insane things (combos) to his opponents. The background music was a Legend of Zelda remix, and actually fit pretty well with the clips that were used. I had a spark after watching the video, and wanted to do cool combos like Mew2King. I knew all the combos were from Melee, and I didn’t have that game. I then decided, I am going to try my best to replicate that amazing gameplay onto Smash 4. I picked up Marth and loved the character since. That combo video also got me to watch competitive Smash Bros. I watched Melee and played Smash 4, and then realized Smash 4 also had a competitive scene in the Wii U version. And, well, now I’m here.

There is still alot of things I want to do that are Smash related. Like, going to a tournament, and I want to pick up Melee competitively eventually. For now, I still will love the franchise as a whole, and will watch the big tournaments that are streamed on Twitch. I guess that brings an end to this very long blog post. But, just wait for the mentality one, that one is going to be lllooooooooooooonnnnnnnnnnggggggggggggg. That’s a topic I can talk about for hours on end. Anyways, I hoped you enjoyed reading this entire thing. Or you just skimmed through it and just reading the last paragraph, smh. Its whatever, I understand that you don’t want to read all of this. But, I recommend trying to learn about something that I love from this post. IF YOU ARE A MORE VISUAL TYPE OF PERSON, AND LIKES TO LEARN FROM VISUALS, THEN I HIGHLY RECOMMEND WATCHING THIS 4 HOUR DOCUMENTARY ON SMASH BROTHERS RIGHT HEREI should’ve put that at the beginning huh…. oh well heh. So that wraps things up for this post. I still have yet to make a schedule, but I want to be consistent with these over the summer. Give me ideas to talk about please. Thanks for stopping by! :]

-Geri

Here are the upcoming topics that are confirmed for future posts:

-Mentality

-Know more about me

-My step dad (for fathers day since that is around the corner) nvm think it would be kind of weird lol

GIVE ME IDEAS TO DISCUSS PLEASE!

Leave a Reply

